Viva Bike Vegas – Riding for a Cure!

Viva Bike Vegas – Riding for a Cure!

ImageThis is my ride. A Trek Lexa 2011. It’s smooth and sleek and rides just fine for my skill set of cycling. One day I may upgrade but for now I’m enamored with my ride.

So after a month off from riding (I sustained an injury), I jumped right back in on Saturday with my buddy, David, and rode 26.26 miles on the Silver Comet trail. We probably only averaged 15 mph but I got to experience the joys (and frights) of drafting. If you’ve never drafted before I highly recommend it for training but boy can it be an emotional rollercoaster riding so close to another cyclist. One wrong move on the first person’s part and it’s a jumble of metal and bodies all over the ground. Thankfully David is a great cyclist and knows how to control a bike so we managed to stay afloat for the ride.

I am officially registered for Viva Bike Vegas Grand Fondo century ride 2012. This is going to be my first century ride on the bike that I’ve wanted to do for a good long time. The options are to ride 75 miles or 118. Right now I’m going to aim for the metric century and if all goes well I’ll bump myself up to the full century ride.

My main purpose for doing this ride is to raise money for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. I’m helping find a cure for blood cancers through fundraising and endurance training. I’m proud to be a part of the TEAM and to help save lives through my efforts. If you want to help out, please visit my fundraising page by clicking on the Viva Bike Vegas – Riding for a Cure! link at the top of the page.

Leave a Reply

